Press Room

<< Return

Campaign Update - Wednesday, November 9, 2011

United Way of Southwest Louisiana has reached 70% of its goal. This accomplishment is due to the hard work of dedicated volunteers and staff who continue to reach out to companies and individuals in southwest Louisiana. Through their continued efforts to initiate and enhance employee giving campaigns, they are able to see firsthand the caring spirit that is alive and well in southwest Louisiana.

Funds raised in the campaign will help United Way continue to put its focus and hard work into the three areas of education, income and health while providing a safety net of service for those in crisis. United Way's goal is to provide building blocks for a productive life.

United Way currently funds more than 30 agencies and more than 50 programs.
United Way Cabinet members include: Jon Manns, Plant Manager PPG, Campaign Chair; Robert Gelinas, BioLab, Plant Manager, Major Industry Division; Gene Lavengco, Firestone Polymers, Plant Manager, Industrial Contractors Chair; Ben Bourgeois, Turner Industries Group, Industrial Contractors Vice-Chair; Russell Pawlowski, Vice President Commercial Banking, Business First, Commerce Chair; Steve Kuypers, VP/General Manager, Delta Down Racetrack Casino & Hotel, Commerce Vice-Chair; Kane Webb, Calcasieu Parish Police Jury, Government Chair; Charlotte Gallemore, Administrative Director Middle Schools, Calcasieu Parish Schools, Education Chair; Kane Mitchell, Vice President & Regional Retail Manager, Whitney National Bank, F.I.R.E. Chair; John Noble, Jr., MD, Orthopaedic Surgeon, Center for Orthopaedics, Health Chair; Vickie Wicks, Edward Jones, Alexis de Tocqueville, Chair; Kevin McMurrian, Executive Director, Boy ScoutsóCalcasieu Area Council, United Way Agencies Chair; Tony Hulsey, Store Manager, Wal Mart #386, Jeff Davis Parish Chair; Scott Brown, Sr. Rotating Equipment Engineer, BP Biofuels, Jeff Davis Parish Vice-Chair; Pat Jones, Executive Director, Allen Council on Aging, Allen Parish Chair; Kelly Sickey, Allen Parish Vice Chair; Tim Trahan, Technician Specialist, Williams, Cameron Parish Chair; John Gott, Chief of Police, City of DeRidder, Beauregard Parish Chair; Jim Mathis, Special Gifts Chair; Rob McCorquodale, Professional Chair.


© Copyright 2016, United Way of SWLA. All rights reserved.